Guides: Health Sciences: Books & eBooks

Reference Books

List of handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources that provide an overview of a topic.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Database of subject-specific encyclopedias and other reference sources.
Licence Details:

Credo Online: Health & Medicine
Searches nearly 200 Health & Medicine related online reference books.

Health & Medicine (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Part of the eBook Academic Collection from EBSCO.
Licence Details:
Ovid Books This link opens in a new window
Health - Ontario Learning Resources for Nursing (OLRN) collection
Licence Details:
ProQuest College Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary e-books
Subject Area(s): Business,Health & Medicine,Science & Technology,Social Sciences.
Licence Details:
Elsevier ScienceDirect eBooks (College Edition) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks covering the fields of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, behavioural sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Licence Details:

The Accessible Content E-Portal (ACE) provides alternate formats (PDFs, Daisy, ePub and plain text) for print books in the Library Collection.

Who can use ACE? Any library user with a print disability that is registered with Durham College's Access and Support Centre.

How to use ACE? Contact library.accessibility@durhamcollege.ca to receive an ACE token. Once you have your token:

If you have any questions or if the book you need is not available, please contact library.accessibility@durhamcollege.ca for assistance.