Guides: Fitness and Health Promotion: Articles & Databases

Major Databases

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles for 550 journals in the area of sports and sports medicine, extending back to 1985. Content also includes books, book chapters and conference proceedings.
Licence Summary:
Sports Medicine & Physical Therapy Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
The Sports Medicine & Physical Therapy Collection includes hundreds of thousands of articles updated daily from nearly 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine.
Licence Details:
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to approximately 300 periodicals, 1,000 pamphlets and 135 reference books related to consumer health.
Licence Details:
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine and provides indexing and abstracts of biomedical journals. The content is from MEDLINE with additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Use either the abstract or the citation formats to display the FindIt button
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:

Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Core public health literature with centralized access to high quality, full-text publications including scholarly journals. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business. Part of Proquest Central Collection.
Licence Details:
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This collection includes journals in the fields of medicine, nursing and allied health. Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 850 titles with full text for over 550 of those titles.
Licence Details:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
Licence Details:

Public Health+
Public Health + is a database of only high quality pre-appraised studies and reviews relevant to public health. This database was designed to help busy public health practitioners access high quality and newsworthy evidence.
Bibiomap (EPPI-Centre)
BiblioMap, the EPPI-Centre database of health promotion research, contains over 14,100 records at present. The studies included in Bibliomap have been compiled over a number of years as a result of searching and coding research for inclusion in systematic reviews at the EPPI-Centre. All studies are coded for specific characteristics of health focus, population group and study type.