Guides: Special Events Planning: Articles & Databases

Key Journals and Magazines

Conference and Incentive Travel
Corporate Meetings and Incentives
Canadian Exhibitor
Meetings and Conventions
Special Events Magazine
Event Management
Journal of Convention & Event Tourism
Chronicle of Philanthropy
Smart Meetings
Smart Meetings is a media company with many resource for meeting professionals. As a multi-platform brand, it specializes in connecting meeting planners with premier hotels and destinations through an award-winning meetings publication, monthly hosted-buyer events, CEU-accredited webinars, a complimentary site-selection service and myriad digital solutions.
Ignite Magazine
Resources for Canadian business event planners for events such as Meetings, Conferences, Conventions, Corporate or Incentive Travel and events planned for corporations, associations or government.
Convene Magazine
A meetings industry publication for educational content and professional development. Published by PCMA since 1986.

Key Reports

A Working Guide to Planning an Event
Alberta Agriculture & Rural Development
Toronto Special Events Planning Guide

Major Indexes

These databases primarily contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books, and conference proceedings.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business subject coverage including management, accounting, marketing, economics, etc. Offers full text for scholarly business journals, magazines, trade journals, country economic reports, market research reports, and company and industry profiles.
License Details:
NOTE:Harvard Business Review does not allow printing or downloading of their 500 most popular articles, which changes frequently.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for approximately 700 Canadian periodicals with 240 available in full-text. Content includes news, biographies, company profiles and historical information.
Licence Details:
Culinary Arts Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
Approximately 150 major cooking and nutrition magazines including recipes, restaurant reviews and industry information.
Licence Details:
Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
Over 500 industry journals focusing on the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field.
Licence Details:
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to data from over 18,000 sources including industry reports, dossiers, and statistics, including Statistics Canada. Download images, PPT slides, Excel files and more.
Licence Details:

Service Disruption: Statista is currently experiencing a technical issue that is prompting users to pay for resources. We are working with the vendor to resolve this issue.

Other Indexes

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from a variety of news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
License Details:
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Licence Details:
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 9,000 full text sources including local, national and international newspapers (including the Globe and Mail), business magazines, trade publications, and newswires as well as company profiles, industry information and stock market quotations and data.
Licence Details:
Small Business Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
This compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details: