Guides: Academic Upgrading: Articles & Databases

Major Indexes

These databases primarily contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books, and conference proceedings.

The databases listed in the Major Indexes section are most likely to contain relevant resources in the your field. The databases in the Other Indexes box may also contain relevant information, just not in the same quantity.

If you are looking for more general information, you may wish to use the resources listed in the Multidisciplinary & General Subject Guide.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
Canadian Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database provides information on 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers. Provides a balanced series of articles that present multiple viewpoints on a variety of issues. Content includes essays, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. This database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Licence Details:
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 550 journal titles related to communication and mass media. Includes full text for approximately 230 titles.
Licence Details:
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for journals and books in computing and applied sciences disciplines as well as full text to 1000 journals.
Licence Details:

Other Indexes

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from a variety of news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
License Details:
CCOHS - Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases focusing on chemicals highlighting their properties, uses, hazards, and availability - Includes MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) and associated Ontario and federal legislation and standards. Includes selected CGSB and CSA standards.
Licence Details:
Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals (College Edition) This link opens in a new window
Journals covering the fields of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social and behavioural sciences.
Licence Details:
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Licence Details:
Scitech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for over 300 applied and general science journals with 250 publications available in full text.
Licence Details: