Guides: Fake News and Disinformation: Finding Credible News Sources

Credible News Sources

Access to credible news sources can be found using library databases.

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers sources including local, national and international newspapers, including the Globe and Mail.
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers such as The New York Times and The Washington Post.

Globe and Mail Canada's Heritage from 1844
Full text archives of the Globe & Mail from 1844 to three years ago.
Google News Archive
This digitalized collection contains The Ottawa Citizen back to 1890, Montreal Gazette back to 1866 as well as archives of the New York Times and many more.
International Newsstream
Part of the ProQuest Central Collection. Access current news and newspapers, newswires, and transcripts from outside the U.S. and Canada.

CBC News
Canada's National broadcaster. Includes national and local news for all provinces and territories. No subscription or account required.
Durham Region News
A source for local news in the Durham area. No account or subscription required.
The Guardian
International edition of the long-standing British news website. Provides significant European news coverage as well as international take on North American and World news. No subscription or account required.
The New York Times
An American newspaper based in New York City. Coverage is focused on the United States, with additional International reporting. Limited articles can be viewed without an account. To access content without an account or subscription please use Lexis Nexis Uni on the Library website. Search for "The New York Times" in Nexis Uni to access.