Guides: Pharmaceutical Science: Articles & Databases

Major Databases

US Pharmacopeia National Formulary (USP-NF) This link opens in a new window
Access the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). Contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics. Register to create an Access Point user account using a valid @dcmail or @durhamcollege.ca email address: USP Access Point Registration
License Details:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
Licence Details:
CPS All Access This link opens in a new window
Current, evidence-based therapeutic information and non-prescription therapy for most common conditions, with cross-referenced drug tables and algorithms. Includes CPS Drug Information, critical updates such as warnings, advisories, and drug shortages; and useful tools such as medical calculators, Clin-Info, Pill Identifier and Lexi-Interact drug interaction checker.
License Summary:
JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
Video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through video demonstrations. Durham College Library subscribes to the complete Science Education series. This content is licensed for educational use in the classroom and via DC Connect. See instructions for adding JoVE videos to DC Connect.
Licence Details:
MEDLINE via. OvidSP This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Created by the U. S. National Library of Medicine, this database provides detailed indexing and abstracts for over 4,800 biomedical journals. Content also included in PubMed.
Licence Details:
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Licence Details:

Other Databases

Bibiomap (EPPI-Centre)
BiblioMap, the EPPI-Centre database of health promotion research, contains over 14,100 records at present. The studies included in Bibliomap have been compiled over a number of years as a result of searching and coding research for inclusion in systematic reviews at the EPPI-Centre. All studies are coded for specific characteristics of health focus, population group and study type.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This collection includes journals in the fields of medicine, nursing and allied health. Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 850 titles with full text for over 550 of those titles.
Licence Details:
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Core public health literature with centralized access to high quality, full-text publications including scholarly journals. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more, the database covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences to business. Part of Proquest Central Collection.
Licence Details:
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine and provides indexing and abstracts of biomedical journals. The content is from MEDLINE with additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Use either the abstract or the citation formats to display the FindIt button