Guides: Broadcasting: Articles & Databases

Major Databases

These databases primarily contain journal and magazine articles. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books, and conference proceedings.

CARDLite This link opens in a new window
CARDonline is a tool for Canadian media buyers and planners. It provides advertising rates, data and media planning information for advertising, marketing, PR and communications professionals.

NOTE:CARDLite access does not offer the ‘media lists’ and ‘reports’ functions for Durham College users. Television advertising rates may only be ‘available on request’ as pricing depends on time of day and ratings.

Licence Details:
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business subject coverage including management, accounting, marketing, economics, etc. Offers full text for scholarly business journals, magazines, trade journals, country economic reports, market research reports, and company and industry profiles.
License Details:
NOTE:Harvard Business Review does not allow printing or downloading of their 500 most popular articles, which changes frequently.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 550 journal titles related to communication and mass media. Includes full text for approximately 230 titles.
Licence Details:
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for approximately 700 Canadian periodicals with 240 available in full-text. Content includes news, biographies, company profiles and historical information.
Licence Details:
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 9,000 full text sources including local, national and international newspapers (including the Globe and Mail), business magazines, trade publications, and newswires as well as company profiles, industry information and stock market quotations and data.
Licence Details:
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Licence Details:

Other Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary full-text journal database with significant humanities, social sciences and science coverage.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
Canadian Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database provides information on 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers. Provides a balanced series of articles that present multiple viewpoints on a variety of issues. Content includes essays, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. This database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Licence Details:
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 150 Canadian and 400 international (U.S. and U.K) periodicals. Content also includes reference books, biographies and an image collection.
Licence Details:
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available search engine that links to a selection of resources from the full Google database and other information. Emphasizes scholarly information. Google Scholar searches for information from all subject areas, and is particularly strong in sciences and technology. Information is drawn from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. The 'cited by' links are especially useful for items not listed in Web of Science, the traditional citation index.
Note: There are limits to searching Google Scholar and you may find better quality information through our other databases.

Newspaper Collections

Globe and Mail Canada's Heritage from 1844 This link opens in a new window
Full text archives of the Globe & Mail from 1844 to three years ago.
Licence Details:
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from a variety of news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
License Details:
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 9,000 full text sources including local, national and international newspapers (including the Globe and Mail), business magazines, trade publications, and newswires as well as company profiles, industry information and stock market quotations and data.
Licence Details:
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Licence Details:

Key Broadcasting Journals, Magazines and Reports

See the Radio & TV Broadcasting list for other relevant journal and magazine titles within the Library's collection.