Guides: Addictions and Mental Health: Books & eBooks

Reference Books

List of handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources that provide an overview of a topic.

DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
Resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians.
Licence Details:

The SAGE Handbook of Drug and Alcohol Studies by Torsten Kolind (Editor); Betsy Thom (Editor); Geoffrey Hunt (Editor)
Call Number: RC564 .S27 2017
ISBN: 9781446298664
Publication Date: 2017
With contributions from leading international academics across the social sciences, this accessible handbook takes a critical look at the key theories, disciplinary approaches, contemporary issues and debates in the field.
The Oxford Handbook of Substance Use and Substance Use Disorders by Kenneth J. Sher (Editor)
Call Number: RC564 .O96 2016
ISBN: 9780199381678
Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Substance Use and Substance Use Disorders provides comprehensive reviews of key areas of inquiry into the fundamental nature of substance use and SUDs, their features, causes, consequences, course, treatment, and prevention.
The International Handbook of Addiction Behaviour by Ilana Belle Glass (Editor)
Call Number: Available Online
ISBN: 9781315542355
Publication Date: 2016
International in its scope and multidisciplinary in its approach, The International Handbook of Addiction Behaviour, originally published in 1991, set a new agenda in the addictions field. This volume brings together the full variety of scientific approaches to addiction behaviour.

PQ Psychology This link opens in a new window
Part of Proquest College Complete eBook Collection.
Licence Details:
Psychology (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Part of the eBook Academic Collection from EBSCO.
Licence Details:

The Accessible Content E-Portal (ACE) provides alternate formats (PDFs, Daisy, ePub and plain text) for print books in the Library Collection.

Who can use ACE? Any library user with a print disability that is registered with Durham College's Access and Support Centre.

How to use ACE? Contact library.accessibility@durhamcollege.ca to receive an ACE token. Once you have your token:

If you have any questions or if the book you need is not available, please contact library.accessibility@durhamcollege.ca for assistance.