Guides: Accounting: Websites

Associations & Organizations

Associations and trade organizations provide opportunities for employment, networking, and professional development

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada
Accounting Standards Board (AcSB)
The AcSB is responsible for establishing standards of accounting and reporting by Canadian companies and not-for-profit organizations
American Accounting Association
The American Accounting Association is a voluntary organization of persons interested in accounting education and research
Annual Financial Report of the Government of Canada
Reviews the government's spending and revenue performance over the previous fiscal year and discusses the factors affecting these results
Canadian Academic Accounting Association
The Canadian Academic Accounting Association (CAAA) is an organization of accounting educators, professional accountants, and others who are involved in, or concerned about, research and education in accounting and related areas
Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada
Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association
Canadian Payroll Association
Canadian Tax Foundation
The Canadian Tax Foundation is an independent tax research organization, and a registered charity, with over 10,000 individual and corporate members in Canada and abroad
Certified General Accountants Association of Canada
Certified General Accountants Association of Canada is a self-regulating, professional association of 75,000 students and Certified General Accountants — CGAs.
Certified Management Accountants Society of Canada
CMA Canada represents leading strategic management accounting professionals who integrate accounting expertise with advanced management skills to achieve business success
Financial Advisors Association of Canada
Financial Planning Standards Council
Institute of Internal Auditors
The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) is an international professional association of more than 170,000 members
Insurance Bureau of Canada
International Federation of Accountants (IFAC)
As the global organization for the accountancy profession, IFAC is committed to protecting the public interest by developing high-quality international standards, promoting strong ethical values, encouraging quality practice, and supporting the development of all sectors of the profession around the world
International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS)
International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) is a set of accounting standards, developed by the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB)
Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada
Mutual Fund Dealer's Association of Canada

Government & Legal Information

Bank of Canada
more...less...
Canada's central bank. The website contains a wealth of information about the Canadian financial system, the economy and financial policy. Contains full text of publications such as the Weekly Financial Statistics
Canada Business
more...less...
Government of Canada site for federal, provincial, and territorial business information e.g. company directories, financing, human resources, e-business and forms, statistics and analysis, importing and exporting, research and development
Canada Pension Plan (Service Canada)
Canada Revenue Agency
more...less...
The Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers tax laws for the Government of Canada and for most provinces and territories and various social and economic benefit and incentive programs delivered through the tax system
Employment Insurance (EI)
Income Tax Act
Industry Canada (formerly Strategis)
more...less...
Includes information on the following topics: Company Directories, Trade, Investment, Business Information by Sector, Economic Analysis, Statistics, Research, Technology, Innovation, Business Support, Financing, Licenses, Legislation, Employment, Learning, Consumer Information
Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada
more...less...
The Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions Canada (OSFI) is the primary regulator and supervisor of federally regulated deposit-taking institutions, insurance companies, and federally regulated private pension plans
Ontario Ministry of Finance
Ontario Securities Commission
Payroll Deductions: Canada Revenue Agency
Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act
SEDAR
more...less...
SEDAR is the system used for electronically filing securities-related information with the provincial securities commissions. The database provides access to public company and mutual fund information in the public domain. Similar to the U.S EDGAR system
Tax Court of Canada

General

CPA Firm Directory
more...less...
Directory of Canadian CPA Firms by firm name, location, firm size or industries
CFO
more...less...
A comprehensive online resource center for senior finance executives
Deloitte & Touche Canada
Globeinvestor.com
more...less...
Financial data on about 2200 publicly-traded Canadian companies and 6500 American companies. Stock quotes, historical price data, press releases, performance history, charts and company financials for each company is given
Pricewaterhouse Coopers Canada

Websites

Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada
Accounting Terminology Guide
Explore this site that contains a glossary of accounting terms to help understand financial reports. Acronyms are both abbreviated and defined, while related terms are cross-referenced.
FASB Standards
Access the US equivalent of the CICA Standards
Management Accounting (CPA)
Dictionary of Derivatives and Financial Instruments
Guide to Understanding Basic Financials
Go to this guide from IBM to access a basic introduction to reading the financial statements in a company's annual report.