Guides: Social Service Worker: Articles & Databases

Major Databases

These databases primarily contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books, and conference proceedings.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from a variety of news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
License Details:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
Licence Details:
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Licence Details:
Psychology Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time.
Licence Details:

Other Databases

Diversity Studies Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as GLBT (Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender) Life and Issues (InfoTrac), this collection contains approximately 40 journals addressing gender studies and the related issues of marriage, family and health.
Licence Details:
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection of journals provides coverage of such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
Licensing details:
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available search engine that links to a selection of resources from the full Google database and other information. Emphasizes scholarly information. Google Scholar searches for information from all subject areas, and is particularly strong in sciences and technology. Information is drawn from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. The 'cited by' links are especially useful for items not listed in Web of Science, the traditional citation index.
Note: There are limits to searching Google Scholar and you may find better quality information through our other databases.
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Licence Details:
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine and provides indexing and abstracts of biomedical journals. The content is from MEDLINE with additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Use either the abstract or the citation formats to display the FindIt button

Theses

Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
National collection of over 265,000 masters theses and doctoral dissertations. Electronic versions from 1998 forward. Older paper copies available through interlibrary loan.

Find Articles

For more information about finding articles, go to the Library's Find Articles page.

For a list of all Gerontology periodicals in Durham Library's databases click here

For a list of all Mental Health periodicals in Durham Library's databases click here

For a list of all Social Welfare and Social Work periodicals in Durham Library's databases click here