Guides: Electromechanical Engineering: Home

Top Recommended Resources

Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals (College Edition) This link opens in a new window
IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP) This link opens in a new window
Access Engineering Library This link opens in a new window
Engineering eBooks from McGraw-Hill, including over 120 in the Mechanical Engineering category.
JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
Video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through video demonstrations. Durham College Library subscribes to the complete Science Education series. This content is licensed for educational use in the classroom and via DC Connect. See instructions for adding JoVE videos to DC Connect.
Licence Details:

ASME Standards This link opens in a new window
Standards database from American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
CSA On Demand This link opens in a new window
Access to the complete collection of CSA Standards. Search by standard title, standard number or click My Library to access the full collection of standards and browse by subject. Access full text using the View Online option. PDF download is not available with our subscription.
Techstreet Standards This link opens in a new window
Access to standards in electronic format from different standards bodies. To request a standard for electronic access, please contact library.resources@durhamcollege.ca. More information on Techstreet here.

Here are some tips for accessing Library online resources from off campus:

Use Omni Search, the search box on the Library home page

You can choose "Available online" as a filter on the results page.
When you select any online resources, you will be prompted to log in. Use your Network ID.

Access databases and publisher collections through the Library

Go to Databases A-Z to log in to collections like ScienceDirect and IEEE Xplore.

Found an article and can't access it? Here are some things you can try:

Copy the article title into Omni Search
Search for the journal in Journals A-Z, then navigate to the year, volume and issue you need.
Email me: kate.gibbings@durhamcollege.ca (or use the askON chat button on the Library website. It will say "Contact us" when the chat service is closed.)

Found an e-book in Omni and can't access it?

This guide was created by Durham College Libraries and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution International 4.0 License, except where otherwise noted.