Guides: Electromechanical Engineering: Articles & Databases

Article Databases

Subject-specific databases allow you to search within a specific subject area or field such as Engineering or Business. General databases are good for topics that cover more than one subject.

Engineering & Science Databases

Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals (College Edition) This link opens in a new window
IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP) This link opens in a new window
Scitech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window

Business Databases

Scotts Directories: National Business Prospector This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on Canadian manufacturers, wholesalers and business services.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage from a Canadian perspective spans agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more. Part of Proquest Central Collection.
Licence Details:
ProQuest Business Collection This link opens in a new window

General Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window

Trade Magazines

Mechanical Engineering Magazine
Published by American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Subscription available through Durham College Library.
Electronic Design
Design Engineering
Modern Machine Shop
Efficient Plant Magazine
American Machinist
MIT Technology Review
Subscription available through Durham College Library.

Selecting Articles

Journal articles are:

Written by researchers who are experts in a subject area
Mainly written for other researchers and students
Cover topics in depth and usually contain original research

Peer reviewed journal articles are considered the most reliable type of scholarly source. Journals that use this process have multiple expert reviewers evaluate and approve articles before they are published.

Trade magazines are:

Written by people in a specific trade or career type, such as mechanical engineering
Contain useful information for people in that trade or career type
May include industry news and trends, technical information, and information about products