These guidelines assume that the user is working with a copyright-protected work; a College license does not cover the work; and the copying is a substantial part. These guidelines only deal with situations where fair dealing is relevant and are a general description of the extent of copying that is likely to be considered fair dealing in most contexts in accordance with the Copyright Act and the Supreme Court decisions.
1. Faculty, staff and students may reproduce, communicate or otherwise deal with short excerpts or portions of a copyright-protected work for educational purposes. Copying for the purpose of research, private study, parody, satire, criticism, review or news reporting is permitted under the fair dealing exception.
2. Sources must be mentioned. Copying or communicating short excerpts from a copyright-protected work under these Fair Dealing Guidelines for the purpose of news reporting, criticism, or review must mention the source, and if given in the source, the name of the author or creator of the work.
3. Reproducing a single copy of a “short excerpt” from a copyright-protected work may be provided or communicated to each student enrolled in a class or course as:
As a guideline, copying a portion of up to 10 percent of a work may be within fair dealing provided that in each case, the excerpt contains no more of the work than is required to achieve the allowable purpose. More that 10 percent may be fine under certain circumstances such as copying:
Note that fair dealing analyses consider all factors, including both the quality and quantity of the dealing.
4. Copying or communicating multiple short excerpts from the same copyright-protected work, with the intention of copying or communicating substantially the entire work, is prohibited.
5. Any fee charged by the college for communicating or copying a short excerpt from a copyright protected work must be intended to cover only the costs of the college, including overhead costs.
If the dealing appears to fall outside the purpose and fairness factors of the fair dealing exception, you may need to examine additional statutory exceptions or seek clearance from the copyright owner before copying. The Fair Dealing exception is only one of several statutory exceptions contained in the Canadian Copyright Act. Other exceptions or conditions may apply to your situation.
Key points to remember:
Additionally:
More Questions? Need help?
Contact copyright@durhamcollege.ca for further information or assistance.
It is always preferable to link to subscription content through Durham College Library! A lot of this content will have "permalink" options, which will work for off-campus users as well.
A simple way to make links to any article, video, eBook or print book is to use Omni Search whic includes most Library resources including physical materials and all databases.
Find the desired item and click on the "Permalink" icon. copy and paste the UTL to your web page. this URL works both on and off campus.
Streaming from library databases
Videos from the library's databases are licensed for educational use. Content from these streaming platforms can be screened in class or linked for personal viewing in online learning. Note that students will need to log in for viewing, and that most platforms do not permit broadcast/screen sharing to view over Zoom or other meeting platforms.
Streaming video including documentary films, television series and news programming from Canadian producers and filmmakers. Includes exclusive content from Indigenous filmmakers.
Academic, vocational and life-skills videos.
Titles in this collection have changed. Need access to a title previously available? Contact library.resources@durhamcollege.ca
Select films licensed by Durham College Library and hosted by McIntyre.
All hosted Durham College Library titles are now available on Can-Core Academic Videos .
Streaming from the internet
Streaming videos from openly available sources the Internet, such as YouTube, without permission is permitted, provided that:
Streaming videos from online subscription-based platforms such as Netflix, Prime, or Crave is not permitted in an educational setting. When you subscribe to streaming services, you do not own content.
The terms of use for streaming services are usually limited to personal use only. These licences override exemptions for educational use in the Copyright Act. If you are unsure whether you can show streamed content in class, check the licence terms for phrases like "personal use only" and "telecommunication or broadcast", or contact the library for assistance.
When you cannot show streamed content to your students, you may instead direct students to access the content on their own.
DVDs and videos
DVDs and videos may be shown on the Durham College campus without special permission or Public Performance Rights, provided:
Feature film screenings for non-educational purposes
Public performance of a feature film at Durham College for non-educational purposes (e.g. for fundraisers, film festivals, student group or club activities) may be possible if the rights are purchased by the college or negotiated for the specific use.
To find out if a particular feature film is covered by a license or to arrange for coverage at an event, please contact the library.
Sound recordings
Sound recordings can be played on campus without permission, provided that: