Guides: Multidisciplinary and General Sources: Articles & Databases

Multidisciplinary & General Article Databases

The resources listed here primarily contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books, and conference proceedings. The databases with 'Canadian' or a 'C' in the title tend to have more Canadian content.

Once you have your topic narrowed down, you may also wish to look at the specific research guides to see if additional specialized resources are available.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary full-text journal database with significant humanities, social sciences and science coverage.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
Canadian Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database provides information on 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers. Provides a balanced series of articles that present multiple viewpoints on a variety of issues. Content includes essays, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. This database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Licence Details:
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 150 Canadian and 400 international (U.S. and U.K) periodicals. Content also includes reference books, biographies and an image collection.
Licence Details:
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for approximately 700 Canadian periodicals with 240 available in full-text. Content includes news, biographies, company profiles and historical information.
Licence Details:
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 9,000 full text sources including local, national and international newspapers (including the Globe and Mail), business magazines, trade publications, and newswires as well as company profiles, industry information and stock market quotations and data.
Licence Details:
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available search engine that links to a selection of resources from the full Google database and other information. Emphasizes scholarly information. Google Scholar searches for information from all subject areas, and is particularly strong in sciences and technology. Information is drawn from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. The 'cited by' links are especially useful for items not listed in Web of Science, the traditional citation index.
Note: There are limits to searching Google Scholar and you may find better quality information through our other databases.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
Intended specifically for high school use, this database provides the full text of more than 700 general interest and current events publications.
Licence Details:
MasterFILE Elite This link opens in a new window
Intended specifically for public libraries, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,300 publications, 1,200 of which are available in full text. Covers general interest topics such as business, consumer health, general science and culture.
Licence Details:

For Dissertations & Theses, see the resources below.

Theses Canada Portal This link opens in a new window
National collection of over 265,000 masters theses and doctoral dissertations. Electronic versions from 1998 forward. Older paper copies available through interlibrary loan.