Guides: Standards and Codes: Standards and Codes at Durham College

Standards Collections

Note that the standards collections below are not searchable from within Omni.

CSA On Demand This link opens in a new window
Search by standard title, standard number or click My Library to access the full collection of standards and browse by subject. Access full text using the View Online option. PDF download is not available for this subscription.
Techstreet Standards This link opens in a new window
Custom standards collection curated by the Library from a variety of standards bodies and publishers. To request a standard or code for electronic access, please contact library.resources@durhamcollege.ca.

More information about the Library's Techstreet subscription is available on the Techstreet page of this guide.
ASME Standards This link opens in a new window
Access complete library of standards across a wide range of topics. Includes Boiler Pressure Vessel Code 2017. To view the standards, please click the link labeled Click here to access via institutional account
ASTM Standards & Engineering Library This link opens in a new window
Access issues? Try another web browser. Online access to ASTM standards as well as manuals, Special Technical Publications, chapters and journal articles.

ISO Standards
The Library does not have a full subscription to ISO standards, but we do subscribe to individual standards by request through the Techstreet platform. Some ISO standards have been adopted by CSA (database linked above) and other standards bodies.

Codes

The Library provides access to a variety of codes, both in print and online. Some are searchable within Omni, such as those listed below. Others must be retrieved directly from the databases collections listed above.

Ontario Building Code Compendium (2012)
C22.1-21 Canadian Electrical Code, Part 1: Safety Standard for Electrical Installations, 25th ed. (2021)
Print copies available, or access the online version through the CSA OnDemand database.
Canadian Electrical Code Handbook (2021)
Print copies available, or access the online version through the CSA OnDemand database.
Ontario Electrical Safety Code, 25th ed. (2021)
ASME Boiler Pressure Vessel Code (2017)
Access via ASME Standards database linked above
National Plumbing Code of Canada (2020)
National Fire Code of Canada (2020)
National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings (2020)
National Building Code of Canada (2020)

Where to find print standards and codes in the Library

The Library purchases select standards and codes in print, which are searchable within Omni.

Locations:

North Oshawa Library:
- 1st Floor Standards section - Shelving near printer area, east side
- 1st Floor - Library Service Desk
- 2nd or 3rd Floor - Stacks
Whitby Campus Library

Tips for Off Campus Access

Here are some tips for accessing Library online resources from off campus:

Use Omni Search, the search box on the Library home page

You can choose "Available online" as a filter on the results page.
When you select any online resources, you will be prompted to log in. Use your Network ID.

Access databases and publisher collections through the Library

Go to Databases A-Z to log in to collections like ScienceDirect and IEEE Xplore.

Found an article and can't access it? Here are some things you can try:

Copy the article title into Omni Search
Search for the journal in Journals A-Z, then navigate to the year, volume and issue you need.
Email me: kate.gibbings@durhamcollege.ca (or use the askON chat button on the Library website. It will say "Contact us" when the chat service is closed.)

Found an e-book in Omni and can't access it?

Email me: kate.gibbings@durhamcollege.ca

Creative Commons License

This guide was created by Durham College Libraries and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution International 4.0 License, except where otherwise noted.