Guides: Library and Information Technician: Article Databases

Main Databases

These databases primarily contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books, and conference proceedings.

Information Science & Library Issues Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
Covers aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloguing, information management, circulation, business information and more.
Licence Details:
Library & Information Science Source This link opens in a new window
Content covers full text for more than 430 journals in Library and Information Science.
Licence Details:
Library Science Database This link opens in a new window
Access to over 150 top publications in library and information science. Part of Proquest Central Collection.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
ERIC via. EBSCO This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by U.S. Department of Education. It provides access to some 14,000 documents (conferences proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, books, etc.), and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
Licence Details:

Key Library Journals and Magazines

To access these resources, click on the links below and enter your Durham username and password when prompted

Access - Ontario Library Association
Furthers the continuing education activities of the Ontario Library Association
American Libraries
National news publication for professional librarians and library workers
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries
Provides a summary of each title's thesis, a comparison with similar titles and audiences, and a recommendation for purchase. Published by the American Library Association
College & Research Library News
Publication of the Association of College and Research Libraries
Print version only on the second floor
Computers in Libraries
Articles about information technology in the library
Feliciter
2001-2015. A publication dedicated to serving the Canadian library & information services community. Contains opinion pieces, columns, & feature articles on professional concerns & developments, along with news of the Canadian Library Association
Information Outlook
Official magazine of the Special Libraries Association. Includes articles on the administration, organization, and operation of special libraries and information centers; research reports in librarianship, documentation, education
Kirkus Reviews
Publishes reviews for fiction, mysteries, sci-fi, translations, nonfiction, & children's books
Library Journal
Tailored to the information needs of librarians and managers in public, academic and corporate libraries
School Library Journal
School Library Journal contains news and reviews for librarians working with children in schools and public libraries. It gives librarians information to manage libraries, create quality collections and understand how technology can assist learning