Guides: Paramedic: Articles & Databases

Health Science Databases

These databases contain articles from academic journals and trade publications in the health science field. They may also contain ebooks, reports and other types of documents. The Health Sciences guide lists additional resources for this field. For general information on finding journal articles, see the Find Articles help page.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This collection includes journals in the fields of medicine, nursing and allied health. Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 850 titles with full text for over 550 of those titles.
Licence Details:
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Licence Details:
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
Licence Details:
MEDLINE via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Created by the U. S. National Library of Medicine, this database provides detailed indexing and abstracts for over 4,800 biomedical journals. Content also included in PubMed.
Licence Details:
MEDLINE via. OvidSP This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Created by the U. S. National Library of Medicine, this database provides detailed indexing and abstracts for over 4,800 biomedical journals. Content also included in PubMed.
Licence Details:

MedlinePlus
Created by the National Library of Medicine, this site has information on over 570 health topics (conditions, diseases and wellness), drug information, a medical encyclopedia, health news, links to OpenAccess medical journals and home of the online version of the Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine and provides indexing and abstracts of biomedical journals. The content is from MEDLINE with additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Use either the abstract or the citation formats to display the FindIt button

Other Databases (Non-Health Science Related)

These databases primarily contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles in non-health related areas. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books, and conference proceedings.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary full-text journal database with significant humanities, social sciences and science coverage.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from a variety of news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
License Details:
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for approximately 700 Canadian periodicals with 240 available in full-text. Content includes news, biographies, company profiles and historical information.
Licence Details:
Criminal Justice Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
Part of Thomson Gales InfoTrac. Contains large amount of full text, with a variety of criminal and social science titles such as the Columbia Journal of Gender and Law, Fordham Urban Law Journal, Journal of Internet Law.
Licence Details:
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Part of Proquest Central Collection. Subject coverage includes corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Licence Details:
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 9,000 full text sources including local, national and international newspapers (including the Globe and Mail), business magazines, trade publications, and newswires as well as company profiles, industry information and stock market quotations and data.
Licence Details:
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Licence Details: