Guides: Social Sciences (Political Science, Psychology, Sociology): Articles & Databases

Political Science Databases

These databases primarily contain articles from journals, magazine and some newspaper articles. You will be prompted for your network login when you enter a database - if you have problems with this login, please contact the IT helpdesk at 905-721-2000 x3333.

Search tip when looking for Canadian content: the databases with a 'C' or 'Canadian' in the title contain primarily Canadian content. In other general databases, try using 'Canada' or 'Canadian' or 'Ontario', etc., as one of your search terms.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary full-text journal database with significant humanities, social sciences and science coverage.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1 This link opens in a new window
These documents present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. Includes historical records of political and social organizations, publications by and for lesbians and gays, personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, gay and lesbian newspapers from multiple countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health.
License Details:
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for approximately 700 Canadian periodicals with 240 available in full-text. Content includes news, biographies, company profiles and historical information.
Licence Details:
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Licence Details:
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from a variety of news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
License Details:
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to data from over 18,000 sources including industry reports, dossiers, and statistics, including Statistics Canada. Download images, PPT slides, Excel files and more.
Licence Details:

Service Disruption: Statista is currently experiencing a technical issue that is prompting users to pay for resources. We are working with the vendor to resolve this issue.

Psychology Databases

These databases primarily contain journal, newspaper and magazine articles. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books and conference proceedings. You will be asked for your network login when you enter a database - if you have problems with this login, please contact the IT helpdesk at 905-721-2000 x3333.

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text psychology journal articles.
Licence Details:
Psychology Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time.
Licence Details:
ProQuest One Psychology This link opens in a new window
Access authoritative content including scholarly journals, therapy videos. counseling transcripts, dissertations, topic summaries and more. Coverage includes abnormal psychology, addiction, death and dying, health literacy, parents and parenting, school counseling and more.
License Details:
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary full-text journal database with significant humanities, social sciences and science coverage.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for approximately 700 Canadian periodicals with 240 available in full-text. Content includes news, biographies, company profiles and historical information.
Licence Details:
ERIC via. EBSCO This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by U.S. Department of Education. It provides access to some 14,000 documents (conferences proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, books, etc.), and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
Licence Details:
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Licence Details:
Scitech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for over 300 applied and general science journals with 250 publications available in full text.
Licence Details:

Sociology Databases

These databases primarily contain journal, magazine and newspaper articles. You will be prompted for your network login when you enter a database - if you have problems with this login, please contact the IT helpdesk at 905-721-2000 x3333.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary full-text journal database with significant humanities, social sciences and science coverage.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1 This link opens in a new window
These documents present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. Includes historical records of political and social organizations, publications by and for lesbians and gays, personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, gay and lesbian newspapers from multiple countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health.
License Details:
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Part of Proquest Central Collection. Subject coverage includes corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Licence Details:
Scitech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for over 300 applied and general science journals with 250 publications available in full text.
Licence Details: