Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for 8,000 newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for approximately 4,000 of these titles.
Canadian subject coverage including politics, business, the arts, sports, and any other kind of Canadian or international news. Indexing and abstracts for approximately 50 newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and magazines. Includes full text for approximately 40 titles.
Provides indexing for approximately 700 Canadian periodicals with 240 available in full-text. Content includes news, biographies, company profiles and historical information.
Tips for Off Campus Access
The resources listed on this guide deal with a specific subject area. In addition, here are a few general tips for accessing the Library's online resources from off campus:
When logging in to a Library resource, you will be asked to enter your network login. If you have any problems, contact the IT helpdesk at 905-721-2000 x2388, room SW100.
In addition to the resources listed on this guide, to find ebooks and articles in a general search use Omni Search, the search tool on the Library home page. If you wish, select 'Available Online' as a filter on the results page.
Have a specific database in mind? Access specific Library databases and publisher collections through the Databases A-Z list.
Found an article but can't access it? There are a few tricks that you could try:
Search for the journal or magazine title in Journals A-Z list, then navigate to the year, volume and issue number that you need
If you have any problems accessing resources, contact me using the options to the left. You could also use the askON chat button on the Library website.
Inquests & Coroners' Reports
Some provinces provide online access to inquests and coroners' reports (e.g. Manitoba), while in other jurisdictions you will need to contact the coroner's office directly to request a specific item. Check a search engine like Google to see what is available online.
A few inquests can be found in the Library's reserve collection - use the Library's Omni search feature to look for 'coroner or inquest' (scroll down to find the relevant entries).
Tip: try searching Canadian newspapers for articles mentioning inquests in your topic area. Once you have the names of the parties involved, the province, etc, try searching for them using Google or your favourite search engine.