Guides: Hospitality Management: Articles & Databases

Key Journals and Magazines

To search for more articles on specific topics, use the library databases

Major Indexes

These databases primarily contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books, and conference proceedings.

Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
Over 500 industry journals focusing on the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field.
Licence Details:
Culinary Arts Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
Approximately 150 major cooking and nutrition magazines including recipes, restaurant reviews and industry information.
Licence Details:
Bloomsbury Food Library This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of food studies content, covering interdisciplinary perspectives from history, sociology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, and development studies. Includes Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia and the Cambridge World History of Food.
License Details:
Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
Food Science Source covers more than 1400 publications dealing with the food industry encompassing sectors such as: Food & Beverage Science, Food Safety, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation and Product Development.
Licence Details:
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business subject coverage including management, accounting, marketing, economics, etc. Offers full text for scholarly business journals, magazines, trade journals, country economic reports, market research reports, and company and industry profiles.
License Details:
NOTE:Harvard Business Review does not allow printing or downloading of their 500 most popular articles, which changes frequently.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
Sage Business Explorer This link opens in a new window
A collection of business resources including datasets, videos, business cases, research methods tools and ebooks.

Other Indexes

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from a variety of news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
License Details:
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Licence Details:
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 9,000 full text sources including local, national and international newspapers (including the Globe and Mail), business magazines, trade publications, and newswires as well as company profiles, industry information and stock market quotations and data.
Licence Details:
Small Business Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
This compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
Licence Details:
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for approximately 700 Canadian periodicals with 240 available in full-text. Content includes news, biographies, company profiles and historical information.
Licence Details: