Guides: Chemical Engineering Technology: Articles & Databases

Science Databases

These databases primarily contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books, and conference proceedings.

Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals (College Edition) This link opens in a new window
Journals covering the fields of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social and behavioural sciences.
Licence Details:
Scitech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for over 300 applied and general science journals with 250 publications available in full text.
Licence Details:
CCOHS - Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases focusing on chemicals highlighting their properties, uses, hazards, and availability - Includes MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) and associated Ontario and federal legislation and standards. Includes selected CGSB and CSA standards.
Licence Details:
Techstreet Standards This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous access to standards in electronic format. This custom collection is curated by the Library. To request a standard for electronic access, please contact library.resources@durhamcollege.ca. To open PDF downloads you must install FileOpen
Licence Details:

Other Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary full-text journal database with significant humanities, social sciences and science coverage.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
MEDLINE via EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health, and pre-clinical sciences. Created by the U. S. National Library of Medicine, this database provides detailed indexing and abstracts for over 4,800 biomedical journals. Content also included in PubMed.
Licence Details:
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine and provides indexing and abstracts of biomedical journals. The content is from MEDLINE with additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Use either the abstract or the citation formats to display the FindIt button

Recommended Journals

Trade Magazines

Trade magazines and other industry publications are useful for maintaining awareness of trends in an industry.

Chemical & Engineering News
Published by the American Chemical Society. Access the magazine’s public website above, or search by topic through the Library’s subscription.
Chemical Engineering
Access the magazine’s public website above, or search by topic through the Library’s subscription.
CEP Magazine (Chemical Engineering Progress)
Published by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. Access the magazine’s public website above, or search by topic through the Library’s subscription.