Guides: Conflict Resolution and Mediation: Articles & Databases

Legal Resources (Free & Subscription Based)

Free resources:

CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute)
E-Laws (Ontario Statutes & Regulations)
Ontario statutes and regulations (includes source law and repealed law).
Justice Laws Website (Department of Justice)
Federal laws.

Subscription resources:

These subscription (paid) databases all require the user to login with a network login when prompted.

The resources in the first part of the list contain both primary resources (case law & legislation) as well as some commentary (secondary sources of information).

Lexis Advance Quicklaw This link opens in a new window
Online Canadian collection of court and tribunal decisions, legislation, commentary and legal news. Includes access to Lawyer's Daily (Law360 Canada). Now called Lexis Advance Canada.
Licence Details:
Westlaw Canada This link opens in a new window
Contains O'Brien's Forms (Divisions I, V, VI, VIII), LabourSource, LawSource and CriminalSource. Access to Canadian case law and legislation, Canadian Encyclopedic Digest, Canadian Abridgment Digests and various law journals.
License Details:

The following resources contain commentary or secondary sources, not case law or legislation.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts contains more than 200,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline from all over the world.
Licence Details:
Criminal Justice Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
Part of Thomson Gales InfoTrac. Contains large amount of full text, with a variety of criminal and social science titles such as the Columbia Journal of Gender and Law, Fordham Urban Law Journal, Journal of Internet Law.
Licence Details:

'Non-Legal' Article Collections

These databases primarily contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles outside of the legal area (such as sociology, psychology or business). For more resources in those areas, see the Research Guide list.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary full-text journal database with significant humanities, social sciences and science coverage.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business subject coverage including management, accounting, marketing, economics, etc. Offers full text for scholarly business journals, magazines, trade journals, country economic reports, market research reports, and company and industry profiles.
License Details:
NOTE:Harvard Business Review does not allow printing or downloading of their 500 most popular articles, which changes frequently.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from a variety of news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
License Details:
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for approximately 700 Canadian periodicals with 240 available in full-text. Content includes news, biographies, company profiles and historical information.
Licence Details:
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 9,000 full text sources including local, national and international newspapers (including the Globe and Mail), business magazines, trade publications, and newswires as well as company profiles, industry information and stock market quotations and data.
Licence Details:
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Licence Details: