Guides: Music Business: Home

Top Resources

For additional resources, see the green topic tabs (ie. Articles & Databases or Books & eBooks).

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business subject coverage including management, accounting, marketing, economics, etc. Offers full text for scholarly business journals, magazines, trade journals, country economic reports, market research reports, and company and industry profiles.
License Details:
NOTE:Harvard Business Review does not allow printing or downloading of their 500 most popular articles, which changes frequently.
Canadian Periodical Music Index This link opens in a new window
This Library and Archives Canada database indexes 650 Canadian music journals. Fulltext is not available from this site.
Fine Arts & Music Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 150 journals in the Fine Arts and Music Collection are covered in the Wilson Art Index and the Rpertoire International de Littrature Musicale (RILM) indexes and are available in full-text.
Licence Details:
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to data from over 18,000 sources including industry reports, dossiers, and statistics, including Statistics Canada. Download images, PPT slides, Excel files and more.
Licence Details:

Service Disruption: Statista is currently experiencing a technical issue that is prompting users to pay for resources. We are working with the vendor to resolve this issue.

IFPI Global Music Reports (International Federation of the Phonographic Industry):

Global Music Report 2022 (online)
Various years available.
Global Music Report (print copies)
Call Number: ML3790 .R43
Various years and locations - check for availability.

Billboard Magazine (available through a number of different databases; you will be asked for your network login):

Billboard
Library subscription to magazine focused on music charts, news and events from the music industry. The magazine's website, Billboard.com, provides some free content as well.

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development across disciplines including fashion & textiles, design & illustration, photography, film & animation, architecture, marketing & advertising.
License Details:
Bloomsbury Music & Sound This link opens in a new window
A growing digital hub for exclusive reference content, cutting edge scholarship and learning resources in music and sound studies. Includes Encyclopedia of Popular Music and the World (12 volumes).
License Details:
Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Engage students in applying core concepts to practice through the use of examples from the global business environment. This collection brings together more than 3,000 cases selected from a variety of sources, including key university and association partnerships, to meet the needs of business faculty and students internationally.
Licence Summary:
Faculty can access teaching notes by emailing Library.Resources@durhamcollege.ca to obtain an access key.
Sage Business Explorer This link opens in a new window
A collection of business resources including datasets, videos, business cases, research methods tools and ebooks.

Multidisciplinary and General Sources
by Trish Johns-Wilson Last Updated Nov 21, 2024 224 views this year
News and Current Affairs (Newspapers)
by Trish Johns-Wilson Last Updated Jul 5, 2024 381 views this year
Business - General
by Nadya Lim-Douglas Last Updated Feb 11, 2025 162 views this year

This guide was created by Durham College Libraries and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution International 4.0 License, except where otherwise noted.