Guides: Music Business: Articles & Databases

Major Databases

These databases primarily contain journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books, and conference proceedings.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary full-text journal database with significant humanities, social sciences and science coverage.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business subject coverage including management, accounting, marketing, economics, etc. Offers full text for scholarly business journals, magazines, trade journals, country economic reports, market research reports, and company and industry profiles.
License Details:
NOTE:Harvard Business Review does not allow printing or downloading of their 500 most popular articles, which changes frequently.
Canadian Periodical Music Index This link opens in a new window
This Library and Archives Canada database indexes 650 Canadian music journals. Fulltext is not available from this site.
CARDLite This link opens in a new window
CARDonline is a tool for Canadian media buyers and planners. It provides advertising rates, data and media planning information for advertising, marketing, PR and communications professionals.

NOTE:CARDLite access does not offer the ‘media lists’ and ‘reports’ functions for Durham College users. Television advertising rates may only be ‘available on request’ as pricing depends on time of day and ratings.

Licence Details:
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for approximately 700 Canadian periodicals with 240 available in full-text. Content includes news, biographies, company profiles and historical information.
Licence Details:
Fine Arts & Music Collection (InfoTrac) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 150 journals in the Fine Arts and Music Collection are covered in the Wilson Art Index and the Rpertoire International de Littrature Musicale (RILM) indexes and are available in full-text.
Licence Details:
IbisWorld This link opens in a new window
Access Canadian industry reports including market characteristics, statistics and business environment profiles, organized by NAICS code.
Licence Details:
Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Engage students in applying core concepts to practice through the use of examples from the global business environment. This collection brings together more than 3,000 cases selected from a variety of sources, including key university and association partnerships, to meet the needs of business faculty and students internationally.
Licence Summary:
Faculty can access teaching notes by emailing Library.Resources@durhamcollege.ca to obtain an access key.
Sage Business Explorer This link opens in a new window
A collection of business resources including datasets, videos, business cases, research methods tools and ebooks.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to data from over 18,000 sources including industry reports, dossiers, and statistics, including Statistics Canada. Download images, PPT slides, Excel files and more.
Licence Details:

Other Databases

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from a variety of news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
License Details:
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available search engine that links to a selection of resources from the full Google database and other information. Emphasizes scholarly information. Google Scholar searches for information from all subject areas, and is particularly strong in sciences and technology. Information is drawn from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. The 'cited by' links are especially useful for items not listed in Web of Science, the traditional citation index.
Note: There are limits to searching Google Scholar and you may find better quality information through our other databases.
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Licence Details:

Key Music Journals, Magazines and Reports

Bass Player
Billboard
Library subscription to magazine focused on music charts, news and events from the music industry. The magazine's website, Billboard.com, provides some free content as well.
Canadian Musician
Guitar Player
International Musician
Mix
Rolling Stone
Words & Music
Available until 2015 only.
The Value Gap: Its Origins, Impacts and A Made-In-Canada Approach
2018 report from Music Canada.
Supporting Artist Entrepreneurs in the Evolving Music Economy
2020 report from Music Canada

Related Guides

Consult these guides for more helpful information

Multidisciplinary and General Sources
by Trish Johns-Wilson Last Updated Nov 21, 2024 179 views this year
News and Current Affairs (Newspapers)
by Trish Johns-Wilson Last Updated Jul 5, 2024 230 views this year
Business - General
by Nadya Lim-Douglas Last Updated Jul 5, 2024 145 views this year