Guides: Skilled Trades and Apprenticeship: Home

Top Resources - Codes, Standards and Legislation

Find online and print codes, standards and legislation through the databases and selected links below. See the program pages to the left and Codes and Standards guide for more.

CSA On Demand This link opens in a new window
Click on My Library and search by standard number, title or topic. Access full-text using the View Online option. PDF download not available.
- Includes access to all current CSA standards including CSA C21.1 Canadian Electrical Code and Handbook and CSA B44 Safety Code for Elevators and Escalators.
ASME Standards This link opens in a new window
Full collection of ASME standards. Includes Boiler Pressure Vessel Code 2017. To view the standards, please click the link labeled Click here to access via institutional account .
- Includes access to ASME Boiler Pressure Vessel Code 2017
Techstreet Standards This link opens in a new window
Access to standards requested by faculty and students, from a variety of publishers. To request a specific standard, contact kate.gibbings@durhamcollege.ca

CSA C22.1:21 - Canadian Electrical Code, Part 1: Safety Standard for Electrical Installations
Access online version through CSA database linked above, or a print copy through this link. Handbook also available.
Ontario Electrical Safety Code (2021)
Ontario Building Code Compendium (2012)

Spotlight on Books

Print Reading for Industry by W. Brown & R. Brown. Goodheart-Willcox.

Delmar's Standard Textbook of Electricity. Cengage.

Canadian Plumbing: Design and Installation by T. White. ATP.

Electrical Wiring: Commercial by R. Mullin. Cengage.

Electrical Wiring: Industrial by S. Herman. Cengage.

Electrical Wiring: Residential by Mullin. Cengage.

Top tips for using the Library

Omni Search on the Library home page lets you search everything (books, e-books, codes, articles, reports and more).
Log in to online Library resources with your Network ID (the same one you use for DC Connect).
Sign in to your Library Account in Omni when you want to see what items you've checked out, when they're due back, and renew them for a later due date.
Get help in person at Whitby Campus Library or Oshawa Campus Library (Hours)
Get help online by clicking on the click to chat button on the Library home page or by contacting your Librarian

Creative Commons License

This guide was created by Durham College Libraries and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution International 4.0 License, except where otherwise noted.

Skilled Trades and Apprenticeship

Engineering & Skilled Trades Librarian