Guides: Public Relations: Articles & Databases

Major Public Relations Databases

These databases primarily contain journal and magazine articles. Additionally, some include materials such as book reviews, e-books, and conference proceedings. They may also include some newspapers - to see newspaper-specific databases, see the Newspaper Databases section.

For a complete list of article databases, see the A-Z Databases list. To search for a particular newspaper, magazine or journal title, see the Journals A-Z page.

Depending on your topic, you may wish to try searching the resources found in other Research Guides. For example, the News & Current Affairs research guide lists the Library's newspaper resources.

C.A.R.D.
Canadian Advertising Rates and Data online version

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business subject coverage including management, accounting, marketing, economics, etc. Offers full text for scholarly business journals, magazines, trade journals, country economic reports, market research reports, and company and industry profiles.
License Details:
NOTE:Harvard Business Review does not allow printing or downloading of their 500 most popular articles, which changes frequently.
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 150 Canadian and 400 international (U.S. and U.K) periodicals. Content also includes reference books, biographies and an image collection.
Licence Details:
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains CBCA's Business, Current Events, Education and Reference indexes.
Licence Details:
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 550 journal titles related to communication and mass media. Includes full text for approximately 230 titles.
Licence Details:
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for approximately 700 Canadian periodicals with 240 available in full-text. Content includes news, biographies, company profiles and historical information.
Licence Details:
Lexis Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Licence Details:
Sage Premier Journals This link opens in a new window
Access journal titles in clinical medicine, allied health, physical sciences, and social sciences.

License Details:
Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to data from over 18,000 sources including industry reports, dossiers, and statistics, including Statistics Canada. Download images, PPT slides, Excel files and more.
Licence Details:

Newspaper Databases

These databases primarily contain Canadian, US and International newspapers but may also contain news blogs, magazines and other news sources.

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from a variety of news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily. Part of the ProQuest Central Collection.
License Details:
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 9,000 full text sources including local, national and international newspapers (including the Globe and Mail), business magazines, trade publications, and newswires as well as company profiles, industry information and stock market quotations and data.
Licence Details:
Globe and Mail Canada's Heritage from 1844 This link opens in a new window
Full text archives of the Globe & Mail from 1844 to three years ago.
Licence Details:

Other General Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary full-text journal database with significant humanities, social sciences and science coverage.
Licence Details:
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with significant humanities, social sciences, and science coverage. Offers indexing and abstracts for newspapers, magazines and journals, and full text for many of these titles.
Licence Details:
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available search engine that links to a selection of resources from the full Google database and other information. Emphasizes scholarly information. Google Scholar searches for information from all subject areas, and is particularly strong in sciences and technology. Information is drawn from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. The 'cited by' links are especially useful for items not listed in Web of Science, the traditional citation index.
Note: There are limits to searching Google Scholar and you may find better quality information through our other databases.

Key PR Journals, Magazines & Newsletters

Click on the links below to see which databases/collections include the journal or magazine title you are interested in. Select whichever database has the title for the dates you wish - you will be prompted to enter your network login before accessing the actual resource. Note: this is not meant to be an exhaustive list of titles.