Guides: Chemical Engineering Technology: Statistics & Data

Scientific Data

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Provides a database of thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Chemical species are searchable by formula, chemical name, CAS registry number, ionization energy, etc.

Statistics Canada
Canadian statistical information, including census data, daily news, and publications and reports.
Statistics Canada Data Tables
Statistics Canada's Data Tables (previously known as CANSIM) is a socioeconomic database presenting time series statistical tables.

Statistics Canada Historical Publications This link opens in a new window
The Historical Collection consists of over 90,000 digitized issues from Statistics Canada titles from the 19th to the early 21st century that were originally published in print, including the Canada Year Book, The Daily, Canadian Social Trends, and the Consumer Price Index.

Statistics Canada: Statistics by Subject
The Daily
Statistics Canada's official release bulletin. News releases on current social and economic conditions and new product announcements. A comprehensive one-stop overview of new information available from Statistics Canada.
Canada Year Book Collection
The Canada Year Book was an annual publication from its first issue in 1867 (called the "Year-Book and Almanac of British North America") until the 1978/1979 issue. It was a biennial publication from the 1980/81 issue until the 2001 issue. In 2003 the Canada e-Book was released as an electronic version based on the 2001 Canada Year Book. There were no issues from 2002 to 2005. With the 2006 edition, the Canada Year Book returned to an annual frequency.

CORA This link opens in a new window
Canadian Opinion Research Archive is a collection of hundreds of commercial and independent surveys dating back to the 1970's. Individuals conducting research for non-commercial purposes may be able to get access to CORA's electronic holdings by requesting a password from CORA manager. CORA is generally prohibited from sending raw data extracts from commercially produced datasets (CROP, Decima, Environics). CRIC (Centre for Research and Information on Canada) data are available for download.

Consult our Guide to Finding Statistics and our Guide to Finding Data for more helpful resources.