It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources. Newspapers including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star along with newswires and broadcast transcripts in full-text format. Updated daily.
Canadian subject coverage including politics, business, the arts, sports, and any other kind of Canadian or international news. Indexing and abstracts for approximately 50 newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and magazines. Includes full text for approximately 40 titles.
Covers more than 9,000 full text sources including local, national and international newspapers (including the Globe and Mail), business magazines, trade publications, and newswires as well as company profiles, industry information and stock market quotations and data.
Provides the full text of news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes mainly U.S. newspapers, laws, business news journals, company financial information, and industry and market news. Limited Canadian and other international legal research sources.
Historical Newspaper Collections
Canadian newspapers - subscription databases and free websites:
Chronicling America provides access to American newspapers from 22 states published between 1860 and 1922. Chronicling America is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
This database provides information on 100 key topics of interest to Canadian researchers. Provides a balanced series of articles that present multiple viewpoints on a variety of issues including: censorship, cloning, crime and punishment, environment, energy, family issues, health and medicine, human rights, immigration, religion, war, women's rights and more. Includes essays, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. This database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.